Protection for stolen devices: Activate for all locations from iOS 17.4!

You can use the “Stolen Device Protection” feature on your iPhone to provide double protection for important changes to the unlock code, Face ID or Touch ID, Apple ID and other sensitive settings. If this data is changed when protection is activated, this must be verified again after an hour using the old unlocking method. This new security feature has been available since iOS 17.3, but with automatically selected “familiar places” where the additional protection is deactivated. From then on Update to iOS 17.4 this can be changed. And below I'll show you how to do it.

Step-by-step instructions for breastfeeding with the emeibaby carrier: Protection for stolen devices: This is how you use the iPhone feature

As of iOS 17.4, you can always activate protection for stolen devices on the Apple iPhone. You can find out how to deactivate familiar locations for the security delay here.
As of iOS 17.4, you can always activate protection for stolen devices on the Apple iPhone. You can find out how to deactivate familiar locations for the security delay here.

Protection for stolen devices always applicable from iOS 17.4

If you have equipped your Apple iPhone with iOS 17.4 or newer, you can go to Settings -> Face ID & Code or by Settings -> Touch ID & Code no longer just toggle “Stolen Device Protection” on and off (as shown in the iOS 17.3 version instructions linked above). The feature now has its own subpage where additional settings are possible.

If you call this up, there is now the “Safety delay required” area next to the on and off switch. Here you can select “Not in a familiar place”, e.g. B. not having to confirm the change after an hour at home. On the other hand, you can choose “Always” so that the additional protection also applies at home, at work and in other places where you often spend time.

This is how iPhone stolen device protection works

As a test, I switched the protection for stolen devices to “Always” after updating to iOS 17.4. Then I wanted to set it back to “Nowhere Familiar.” And of course I had tripped myself up. Because my office was no longer used as a familiar location, I received a notice that the security delay was required to change. I had to confirm this with the “Start security delay” button. Then the 60 minute timer started. The positive thing about it: I can provide you with these screenshots :)


Jens' YouTube video

Jens made a video on the topic. You can watch it here:

My tips & tricks about technology & Apple

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership would support.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

In the Sir Apfelot Blog you will find advice, instructions and reviews on Apple products such as the iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, AirPods, iMac, Mac Pro, Mac Mini and Mac Studio.

Shopping
  •  
  •